EN DE

South Downs-Nationalpark


Hinter dieser als „Tor zu England“ bekannten Landschaft mit sanften Hügeln, alten Wäldern und bildhübschen Ortschaften verbergen sich die Geheimnisse einer jahrtausendealten Besiedlung – von der prähistorischen Geschichte bis hin zur Eroberung unter Cäsar.

Kontact

National-park


Anhaltspunkte dafür, welche Menschen in den South Downs gelebt und diese geprägt haben, gibt es überall – angefangen mit Hügelgräbern aus der Bronze- und Hügelfestungen aus der Eisenzeit bis hin zu römischen Villen, historischen Herrenhäusern und imposanten normannischen Burgen.

Burg Arundel ist seit über 850 Jahren im Besitz des Herzogs von Norfolk, dem höchstrangigen Herzog Englands. Die 1000 Jahre alte Burg Lewes bietet wiederum eine ausgezeichnete Aussicht auf das gleichnamige historische Marktstädtchen und die umgebenden Kreidehänge.

Die South Downs haben die größten literarischen und künstlerischen Persönlichkeiten Großbritanniens in ihren Bann gezogen, von Jane Austen über Rudyard Kipling bis hin zur Bloomsbury-Gruppe und Virginia Woolf. Woolfs Eintrag in ihrem Tagebuch: „Die Downs… zu viel für ein Paar Augen, genug, um eine ganze Bevölkerung in Glückseligkeit treiben zu lassen, wenn sie nur schauen würde.“

Auch Wissenschaftler fühlen sich der außergewöhnlich reichen Tierwelt wegen von dieser Gegend angezogen. Der Familiensitz des Naturforschers Gilbert White, bekannt für seine bahnbrechenden Arbeiten, kann heute noch in Selborne besichtigt werden.

Heathrow 1 hour

8

Erlebnis

8

Unterkünfte

Broschüre herunterlade

Die Englisch National Parks Experience Collection-Broschüre 2019-20

Dieser Erlebnisführer ist Ihr Wegweiser zu den buchbaren Erlebnissen und Unterkünften der neun Nationalparks England.

Broschüre herunterladen

preview thumbnail

South Downs-Nationalpark Überblick

Kontact

person icon

Katherine Beer

email at symbol

info@southdowns.gov.uk

phone icon

+44 (0)1730 814810

Unterkünfte

Amberley House Cottage Holidays

Amberley House Cottage Holidays


  • Address 70 cottages located throughout the South Downs National Park.
  • 70 Häuser für Selbstversorger rooms
  • Open Ganzjährig
Park House Hotel & Spa

Park House Hotel & Spa


  • Address Bepton, Nr Midhurst, West Sussex, GU29 OJB
  • 21 rooms
  • Open Geschlossen: 24.–26. Dezember, außer bei Exklusivbuchung aller Zimmer
Sullington Manor Farm

Sullington Manor Farm


  • Address Sullington Manor Farm, Sullington Lane, Storrington, West Sussex, RH20 4AE
  • 5 cottages rooms
  • Open Ganzjährig

Blog listing

24Sep2019

Norfolk mead is a luxurious hotel in the heart of the Norfolk Broads countryside on the banks of the River Bure. The hotel offers secluded luxury in this gorgeous Georgian building; bedrooms are all individually styled with sumptuous contemporary furnishings, the communal areas are elegant and inviting and to complement

27Aug2019

National Park Birds of Prey Experience

This is a fun and engaging experience where guests get to handle, feed and fly the vast array of beautiful birds at this falconry business. Mark and Mandy are wonderful hosts who make guests feel at home instantly, the art of falconry is in their

South Downs National Park


Known as the ‘gateway to England’, this landscape of rolling hills, ancient woodland and picture perfect villages holds the secrets of thousands of years of settlement from prehistory to Caesar’s conquering forces.

Get In Touch

The park


Clues to the people who have lived in and shaped the South Downs can be found everywhere  from Bronze Age burial mounds to Iron Age hill forts, Roman villas, historic stately homes and imposing Norman castles.

Arundel Castle has been home to the Duke of Norfolk, the most senior peer in the realm for over 850 years, while the 1,000-year old Lewes Castle provides views over this historic market town and the chalk slopes that surround it.

The South Downs has captivated some of Britain’s greatest literary and artistic figures, from Jane Austen, to Rudyard Kipling to the Bloomsbury Group and Virginia Woolf, who said in her diaries “The Downs… too much for one pair of eyes, enough to float a whole population in happiness, if only they would look.”

Scientists have also been drawn to the area for its extraordinarily rich wildlife. The home of pioneering naturalist Gilbert White can still be visited in Selborne.

Heathrow 1 hour

160 kilometres

The length of the South Downs Way National Trail

Download Experience Collection brochure

The English National Parks Experience Collection Brochure 2019-20

This guide provides you with a source of information on the wide range of contractable experiences and accommodation available in nine of England’s National Parks.

Download our brochure

preview thumbnail

The South Downs National Park Overview

Trade contact

person icon

Katherine Beer (Sustainable Tourism Lead)

phone icon

+44 (0)1730 814810